20 Years Later — Who’s Hurting America Now, Jon Stewart?

Did Tucker Carlson have a point?

Max Can't Help It!
5 min readMar 30, 2024

Twenty years ago Jon Stewart appeared on the show “Crossfire” and accused Paul Begala and Tucker Carlson (especially Carlson) of failing its responsibility to produce fair and responsible journalism:

“It’s hurting America. Here is what I wanted to tell you guys: Stop. Stop hurting America.”

Jon Stewart became our champion.

I laughed when Stewart cut down the bow-tie wearing Carlson with, “You know what’s interesting, though? You’re as big a dick on your show as you are on any show.”

A few years after the Crossfire interview I tired of Jon Stewart and The Daily Show’s relentless attacks on Florida, Alabama, Texas, etc. I stopped watching. I can laugh at only so many graphics comparing Mitch McConnell’s face to a turtle. Stewart left the show in 2015, reportedly with an annual salary approaching $25 million.

Recently, Jon Stewart agreed to host The Daily Show (TDS) on Mondays for the 2024 Presidential election cycle. I figured I’d cover it on my dormant YouTube channel Max Can’t Help It!

Would Stewart once again try to fix the problem of partisan hackery?

--

--