AI Has No Fix For Deceit

CoPilot won’t program away anyone’s fear of losing their job

Max Can't Help It!
7 min readMar 17, 2024

The most fascinating aspect of our current AI craze is that it’s rarely connected to something we all experience.

The great Enshittification, as Cory Doctorow puts it.

Almost all the technology surrounding us is buggy or dysfunctional. Like trying to drive a car on the freeway with a missing wheel. Or turn on a heater with a dead fan. Or try to stop a Tesla’s windshield wipers from turning on when we enter a tunnel.

I remember the good days. When I’d call up customer support. Fill in a feedback form. My bright-eyed optimism that if I complained they’d fix it. Little did I know things were about to get 10x worse.

So my million dollar question is…if AI is useful why hasn’t it fixed the mountain of shitty software we trudge through every day?

Because no one wants to pay what it properly costs to fix legacy software.

All the AI in the world will not fix something one is paid to try-to-fix. Not fix, try to fix.

I’ll use a bank analogy.

  1. “We” (a tech development company) are hired to create some software to fulfil a regulatory requirement of our client, a “Bank”. Or because the Bank wants to get a customer…

--

--